Plays: Be A Good Little Widow by Bekah Brunstetter

Before I left New York earlier this month, I loaded up on plays. I borrowed a bunch from my best friend who works for a play publishing company, so has a ton on his shelf, and bought 7 or so more from the Drama Book Shop.  I read David Henry Wang’s Yellowface on the plane.

Today I read (kind of devoured, actually) Be A Good Little Widow by Bekah Brunstetter. It was great. Slow, beautiful, funny – even in the midst of tragedy. A good sense of dialogue for a person today in her late twenties – lots of exclamation points and tangents. I recommend checking it out.

A great stage direction from the first page:

CRAIG enters, weary from a flight, in the crisp French blue of corporate America.

And a touching moment from the end:

Hope: Tell him about Craig.
Then you should probably cry on him and see how he takes it.
If he takes it: let him take you to lunch.

I also really like this cover – the image is nicely evocative of the tone of the play and the colors are great.  It is by Michael Lum.

I have always liked Brunstetter – her play You May Go Now was one of the very first things I ever say in New York. I will have to read more of her stuff.

(Plays are also a great way to up my books read in the year – currently at 30, and hoping to reach at least 52 by the end of the year.)

crossposted to my tumblr.

Leave a Reply

